 |
Monroe County (NY) Library System Magazine Indexes and
Other Databases |
Searching MasterFILE Select: A Tutorial
HOW TO SEARCH BY SUBJECTS
Subject
headings group articles together by subject. Use a Subject Search to
search subject headings and find
all articles that focus on that subject. This search retrieves fewer but
more focused articles then a Keyword Search.
To practice a subject search, click here,
or read the step-by-step instructions below.
|
1. |
Click on the Subjects button. (Where is this?) |
|
2. |
Type in word or words describing the subject. |
|
3. |
Select if you want the results displayed Alphabetical or
Relevancy Ranked. Relevancy Ranked lists headings according to
the frequency of your search term in the subject headings. |
|
4. |
Click the Browse button. |
|
5. |
All subject headings containing the words you typed are listed.
The number of articles for each format -- periodical, review, newspaper, academic
journal, trade, etc. -- is given. |
|
6. |
Click on
the subject heading you want. Note: Listings labeled "Use" are other
subject headings that may also be relevant. |
|
7. |
All articles for that subject heading are listed. To see more
titles click on the Next link found near the top of the page. |
|
8. |
Full text articles are noted with the link "HTML Full Text."
Articles in PDF (which displays the article exactly as it
looks in the journal) have a "PDF Full Text" link. A
"Linked Full Text" displays the full text article from another
EBSCOHost database. |
|
9. |
Click on a title to see the citation. Or click on "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" to read the
article. Note: Ask a librarian for help in finding the full text of an article
that has only a citation in the MasterFILE Select database. |
|
10. |
You can print or email the article. |
Search tip:
Search for a person
by typing in last name, first name.
To practice a subject search, click here. To go directly to the MasterFILE Select database,
click here.
copyright 2005
This web page was supported by Federal Library
Services and Technology Act funds, awarded to the New York State Library
by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.
|