 |
Monroe County (NY) Library System Magazine Indexes and
Other Databases |
Searching MasterFILE Select: A Tutorial
HOW TO SEARCH BY KEYWORD
A Keyword Search retrieves all articles that have the word or words you
searched for in the article's title, citation or full text.
A Keyword Search is the most comprehensive search. It will find articles that
focus on the topic you searched for and articles that mention the
topic in the text. A Subject Search will
give you fewer articles but these articles will be primarily about your
topic.
To practice a keyword search, click here,
or read the step-by-step instructions below.
|
1. |
Click on the Keyword button. (Where is this?) |
|
2. |
Type a word or words describing the topic. |
|
3. |
If any
word is misspelled, your search will be listed with the correct spelling. Click on the link with the corrected spelling
to redo the search. (Example) |
|
4. |
Limit or
expand your search if you want. (Where is this?) |
|
5. |
Click the Search button. |
|
6. |
Articles containing the word or words you searched for are
listed. To see more titles click on the Next link found near
the top of the page.
Full text articles are noted with the link "HTML Full Text."
Articles in PDF (which displays the article exactly as it
looks in the journal) have a "PDF Full Text" link. A
"Linked Full Text" displays the full text article from another
EBSCOHost database. |
|
7. |
Click on a title to see the citation. Or click on "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" to read the
article. Note: Ask a librarian for help in finding the full text of an article
that has only a citation in the MasterFILE Select database. |
|
8. |
You can print or email the article. |
Search tip:
You can use Boolean
operators (and, or and not), wildcard (?), truncation (*) and proximity (N
or W) searching. See Tips for Better Searches
for help.
To practice a keyword search, click here.
To go directly to the MasterFILE Select database,
click here.
copyright 2005
This web page was supported by Federal Library
Services and Technology Act funds, awarded to the New York State Library
by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.
|